Australian Rules Football Club

Australian Rules Football

OUARFC is the oldest Australian Rules Football Club outside of Australia, and one of the oldest varsity clubs of the University. Formed just after the First World War, the Club is now approaching its centenary year and played its first match against Cambridge in 1921, making it the longest running Australian football rivalry outside of Australia.

The Oxford University Australian Rules Football Club (OUARFC) welcomes players of any ability and nationality. We play the great game of Australian Rules Football, a mix between rugby and soccer, and have players ranging from those who have played professionally to those who have never touched a ball.

In recent years, our team has comprised representatives from Australian, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom. It is a very social and welcoming environment and we encourage anyone interested to be in touch with the President or the Captain.

Past members include current AFL Commission Chairman and dual Carlton Football Club Premiership Captain Mike Fitzpatrick, Chairman of the Australian Sports Commission John Wylie, prominent businessman Sir Rod Eddington, and Hawthorn supporter Lionel Nichols.

The highlight of our year is the annual varsity match against Cambridge. In 2013, we defended the Varsity Cup with a 48 point victory: 10.6 (66) to 2.6 (18). In addition to a fixture of matches against UK universities and club teams, OUARFC also organises an annual tour to Europe, with the 2013 edition involving matches against club and university teams in the Czech Republic and Croatia.

In 2011 we were the subject of an Australian Broadcasting Corporation documentary

Training Times and Venues




Training type

 Wednesday  15:00 – 17:00 Magdalen College fields, Marston Road Ball work
 Sunday  15:00 – 17:00 Magdalen College fields / University Parks Ball work & practice matches


Contact details Follow Australian Rules Football on Twitter Follow Australian Rules Football on Facebook

President: Eugene Duff
Treasurer: Ewan Selkirk (Hertford)
Secretary: Oliver Bartlett (Worcester)

Captain: Kyle Turner (Jesus)


Newsletter Signup

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

View our videos on YouTube.

Sponsors & Partners