Oxford University Hockey Club has 4 men’s teams, 3 women’s teams, 2 summer mixed teams and an academy for promising college players. Teams play in BUCS on a Wednesday and in Adult leagues on a Saturday, with training once or twice a week. The club is very close knit with an excellent social scene, and enjoys top class coaching from former GB International, John Shaw. We look forward to hearing from you.

Hockey is a game which involves 11 players with 5 subs playing two 35-minute periods, with a 10 minute interval for half-time. It is extremely fast paced and England’s representative sides are ranked in the top 5 in the world for men and women. The season runs from October-April.

Training times and venues

Day Time Location Training type
Sunday 11:30 – 13:00 Iffley Astro Academy Training
Monday 14:00 – 18:00 Iffley Astro Men’s & Women’s Blues
Tuesday 07:00 – 08:30 Iffley Astro Women’s Training
Tuesday 16:00 – 18:00 Iffley Astro Men’s Training
Thursday 14:00 – 18:00 Iffley Astro Men’s & Women’s Blues
Friday 16:00 – 18:00 Iffley Astro Women’s Training


Contact details Follow Hockey on Twitter

President: Nicholas Leach (Lincoln)
Treasurer: Lucy Donovan (Keble)
Secretary: Shona McNab (Corpus Christi)
Social Secretary: Andrew Fanthorpe (St. Benet's) and Katrina Harris (Worcester)


Men’s 1st Captain: Ryan Kavanaugh (Worcester)

Men’s 2nds Captain: Jonathan Attwood (Brasenose)

Men’s 3rds Captain: Nicholas Hooper (Brasenose)

Womens 1st Captain: Naomi Kelly (St Catherine’s College)

Women’s 2nds Captain: Ellen Young (Worcester)

Women’s 3rds Captain: Jemima Scrase (Lady Margaret Hall)

Academy Director: Alex Talbot (New)

Alumni Secretary: Charlotte Molony (St Catherine’s College)

Outreach Officer: Phillipa Nichols (Somerville)