Sports Awards 2017

Sports Awards 2017

Oxford University Sports Federation

Annual Sports Awards 2017

The Annual Sports Federation Awards will be presented at the Sports Federation Awards Evening on Friday 17th November 2017. These awards recognise achievements from the previous academic year.

TICKETS CAN BE PURCHASED HERE – ticket sales will close at 9 am on Friday 10th November.

The award categories and shortlisted nominees are as follows:

Sportswoman of the Year

Alex Drewe (Lacrosse)

Chiara McDermott (Fencing)

Claudia Havranek (Boxing & Judo)

Dani Chattenton (Athletics & Cross Country)

Harriet Dixon (Fencing & Netball)

Rachel Wheatley (Boxing & Judo)

Sportsman of the Year

Ben Skretting (Judo)

Dominic Thelen (Football)

George Dury (Lacrosse)

Jamie Vickers (Powerlifting)

Jonathan Brooks-Bartlett (American Football)

Club of the Year


Contemporary Dance

Cross Country



Team Performance of the Year

Fencing (Women’s Blues)

Rugby Union (Women’s Blues)

Tennis (Women’s Team)

Triathlon (Women’s Blues)

Ultimate Frisbee (Women’s Blues)

Coach of the Year

Ali Mortimer & Gary Street (Rugby Union)

Chris & Carol Doherty (Judo)

David Morris (Lacrosse)

Kyle Bennett (Cross Country)

Tomek Walicki (Fencing)

Teammate of the Year

Dan Lock (Ice Hockey)

Elizabeth Andrew (Gymnastics)

Niamh Walshe (Powerlifting)

Richard Morris (Archery)

Zoe Clark (Powerlifting)

Norman Bryce Smiley Trophy

Catherine Lavendar (Netball)

Gregor Cremosnik (Judo)

Isabelle Warner (Lacrosse)

Miles Chandler (Athletics & Cross Country)

Zoe Thursz (Athletics & Lacrosse)


Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year

Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year are awarded to individuals who excelled in their chosen sport but also contributed to the life of their club, or to their sport in other ways.

Club of the Year

Open to all clubs, whether they are competitive or not. The award will be judged on the club’s activity over the past year and their contribution to the University and to the community. This might be through club growth or development, outreach, or other activities – on and off the pitch.

Team Performance of the Year

Aimed at competitive teams and can be any distinct team within a club – from Women’s Blues to Men’s 3rds.  These will primarily be judged on three key areas: 1) achievement e.g. top performances in BUCS or other major leagues/events 2) for dramatic improvements 3) a fantastic run of performances/victories.

Coach of the Year

Presented to any coach of a University sports club who has made a real difference to the club’s experience and performance.

Teammate of the Year

Teammate of the Year is awarded to any University sportswoman or sportsman. Please remember that nominees do not have to be a member of the Club. The award recognises commitment to sport and their teammates, a positive attitude and belief in themselves and others, an ability to motivate and lead, and a selfless attitude.

Norman Bryce Smiley Trophy

The Norman Smiley Trophy is awarded to a sportsperson who displays the characteristics most valued by Norman Smiley – both on and off the field of play. “Humility in ones success, morality in ones ambition, pride in ones ability and willingness to add value to ones surroundings”.


Once nominations close a shortlist will be then be produced and published. The winners will be announced at the Awards.

The winners will be decided by a specially constituted panel including the Sports Federation, the Sports Federation Executive Committee and Senior Management representative of the Sports Department.